From dinoflaj3
Jump to: navigation, search

Updating the Index/DINOFLAJ after a lapse of twelve years was a massive task that would have been impossible without the unstinted support of numerous colleagues. These include: Peter Bijl, Henk Brinkhuis, Chris Clowes, Erica Crouch, Stijn De Schepper, Karen Dybkjær, Lucy Edwards, Malte Elbrachter, Susanne Feist-Burkhardt, Rahul Garg, Marc Gottschling, Raquel Guerstein, Rex Harland, Claus Heilmann-Clausen, Martin Head, Alina Iakovleva, Laurent Londeix, Stephan Louwye, Daniel Mantle, Fabienne Marret-Davies, Edwige Masure, Francine McCarthy, Kenneth Mertens, Peta Mudie, Dirk Munsterman, Henrik Nøhr-Hansen, Martin Pearce, Daniel Peyrot, Michael Prauss, Joe Prebble, Jim Riding, André Rochon, Francesca Sangiorgi, Paul Schioler, Hamid Slimani, Appy Sluijs, Ali Soliman, Michael Streng, Gerard Versteegh, Karin Zonneveld. We apologize to anyone we inadvertently omitted. Susanne Feist-Burkhardt pointed out some errors in our references to the papers by C.G. Ehrenberg in previous versions of the Index and assisted us in correcting these mistakes; however, any errors that remain are fully our responsibility. Malte Elbrächter, Marc Gottschling and Michael Streng were towers of strength in helping us to update the entries for the calcareous dinoflagellate cysts and in providing us with several, otherwise inaccessible reprints. We owe an especial debt of gratitude to Michael for responding to our numerous queries promptly and expertly. We are grateful to Jennifer Galloway, Raquel Guerstein and Martin Head for reviewing all or parts of the manuscript. We are indebted to Bill MacMillan and Nelly Koziel for technical support. And we thank Judi Lentin, Jim Riding and Bob Clarke for managing the publication aspects of both the Index and DINOFLAJ. Finally, we are grateful to the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) and Saint Mary’s University for providing the facilities for production of this edition of the Index. Indeed there would not be an Index, without the continuing support of the GSC since 1973.

A number of co-op students worked on the initial project: thus we are grateful to Matthew Goodarzi, Christopher Davison. Andrew Mathison, and Patrick Upson. We also thank Phil Spencer, Steve Perry and Phil Moir at the Geological Survey of Canada (Atlantic) for support and advice.

Finally, we thank the authors of a number of software tools for making their efforts freely available for modification and use: MediaWiki, Semantic MediaWiki, Mediawiki], MySQL, PHP, and Apache.

The software now runs on a Linux Mint server that is ultimately based on Ubuntu and Debian GNU/Linux distributions.